OMG ARCHERY TAG!


After seeing so many posts on my Facebook news-feed about this so called “Archery District” – I decided to check it out.

I drove down to Scarborough on the Monday night. It was near the intersection of Eglington and Birchmount hidden within a plaza of bland looking suites.

Booking for this activity required at least 8 people to have signed up or it would’ve been cancelled. When I registered I quickly chose the time where most people booked.

When I walked into the reception area, it was clear it was a birthday party. That would of explained the almost fully booked capacity…

I was a random plus one into a birthday booking… I thought of it as, yes more targets and more fun!

While we were waiting for all the registrants we signed waivers. Clauses about photos and to acknowledge we may get hurt participating in the activity.

We all lined up into two lines and were taught the rules and techniques of archery. Both spiels were quick and straight to the point. In a few minutes we were loading our bows and releasing our arrows to the practice targets on the wall. Some people were horrible and other seemed to have a natural talent.

Those were the people that said, “OH Y’ALL BETTER WATCH OUT ON THE FIELD!”

Naturally because of the birthday party many of them knew I was a random person and quickly told me they were going to aim for me.

Great. Yay for me.

Knowing the game was about to start in a couple minutes made everyone pace back and fourth. Others were planning where to hide inside the cage full of numerous blow-up ground shields.

What the archery tag experience defined is: dodgeball with bows and arrows. There were three game modes that we played: first was classic (hit, you’re out), second one was ironman (designated “medic” or doctor), and the last one was viral (get hit, go to the other team).

Similarly to Dodgeball there is a fear of getting hit. In this case, by these fast-traveling marshmallow looking arrows. To note you sweat a lot within your mask because of the panting. There are the added struggles of shooting your arrow right, grabbing a nearby arrow, loading it to your bow, and dodging incoming arrows.

During my hour of what I call bow-and-arrow, ninja-like, dodgeball-with-a-twist, I saw plenty of replay worthy highlights. I saw: a person catch an arrow and use it to shoot back, a person get hit straight on in the head, two arrows hit each other in the air neutralizing the shot, a whole team shoot the last person on the other team together, there were so many crazy moments.

Would I try it out again?

My answer would be yes. It’s fun shooting arrows at people and there is a shot of adrenaline in your system as you run, dodge, and shoot the other team.

Yes it was 28.02 when I paid for it but I highly recommend going with a group of people or just crashing another booking like I did.

What was really needed was water at the end of play.

Though they do have a little refrigerator at the counter where you can buy drinks and snacks, I’m pretty sure a water bottle would do the trick.

Overall my experience was great and I would go back if any friends decided to check it out again.

– Pjay

2 thoughts on “OMG ARCHERY TAG!

    1. We had 4 games in total for the paid hour!

      Depending on the skill level of your opponents, pain can range from paintball-ish to barely nothing. The first few games everyone was caught up in the adrenaline of dodging arrows and no one seemed to know how to fire an arrow properly. After the first two games passed by – arrows were flying at crazy speeds.

      Hehe I even hit someone in the groin – I felt bad, but ended up laughing…

Leave a Reply

